The Local Library: Home Of The Last True Alternative Crowd

Thought Catalog

shutterstock_136360388

I only went there to get my tax forms. Though I’ve lived in the neighborhood of Cleveland Park for almost seven years now, I think the last time I went to the library was to return a book so many years overdue they’d removed it from the system (one easy way to evade late fees). But that was years ago.

It’s funny how reluctant we act when faced with unfamiliar territory, particularly places where we know we should feel welcome, but never visit.  I’m shy about asking the librarian for a 1040.  But after my stealth corner-of-the-eye glances around the main room — trying not to look like I didn’t know what I was doing – merit nothing, I meekly walk up to the librarian.  She looks busy.

“Do you have 1040 forms. . .?” I could tell she knows my type. Only there for a purpose, get the goods…

View original post 373 more words

Leave a Reply

